SWISCO - The Replacement Hardware Authority

Subject: need replacement balances and pivot shoes measurements.

A quick learner from Chapel Hill NC says:
I'm a contractor in Chapel Hill, NC, trying to help the local Community Home Trust keep their double-hung windows operating in an affordable housing apartment building. I need some replacement balances and pivot shoes for some older vinyl windows.

I believe I have found the pivot shoes, Product Code 15-216, the measurements look correct and they look like they will accept the balance bottoms of the existing balances. However, I could not find on your site the replacement balances with the bottoms that I need. Please advise?

Also, interestingly, some of the windows have 32B stamped on the balances, and some have 33B, even though the windows look exactly the same size to me. What's up with that? Could the 32B be used where the 33B now is?

Thanks, Jim
User submitted photos of window hardware.
Profile picture of Paul
Paul from SWISCO responded:
Thank you for posting. First, can you confirm if these channels are ribbed or plain? If they're plain, then the manufacturer actually made a nice and easy replacement for both the balance and pivot shoe. See our S795-32 with a stamp of 32B and our S795-33 with a stamp of 33B.

Speaking of the stamps, let's talk about how you have two different kinds. Just to make sure you get the right hardware, measure the length of the metal channel for both balances. This may be more accurate than measuring the windows themselves. I suspect they may be 32" long and 33" long respectively, as per my suggestions above. Am I correct?
A contractor from Chapel Hill, NC says: