Mismatched Sash Balances

A home owner from California says:
I'm trying to repair an old sash window with a broken pulley but the balances on it aren't even the same. Not only are they different lengths, but the end pieces are different. It seems like a past owner replaced one. The thing is, both seem to be incorrect to me based on the size and weight of the window.

Currently it has:
- 2340 with a non winged bottom
- 2240 with a winged bottom

But the window weighs 18 pounds and from what I've measured fits a 25" balance. Therefore I believe it should use a 2430. Any tips on what part to replace with? My best guess is either S395-25 or S385-25 but I'm new to this. Thank you for your time!
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_2340.jpg
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_2341.jpg
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_2342.jpg
Profile picture of Tom
Tom from SWISCO responded:

Thanks for reaching out to us. This is definitely an issue, but it's one I think we can solve. It'll just take a little detective work.

Before we do anything, I'd like your analysis on which fitting configuration would be better suited for this window. Some details to look out for is whether the sash drags during operation, or makes any noise on one particular side. I'm not as concerned with the top nylon fitting (which are identical) as I am with the bottom, the depth of which can make a huge difference. Also see if there are any drag marks in the track on either side. If there is, then that's the side we can rule out.

As for length, there is a very simple formula we can use to determine the proper size. What you need to do is measure the height of the visible glass and then add 1". For example, if your visible glass height is 30", then you want a 31" long balance. That will allow me to verify if 25" is the proper size.

Hey Tom, sorry for the late response. Just had a baby so things are a little crazy over here!