Milco Div. Aluminum Window

A from Chicago, Illinois says:
My building has these windows. The only markings are as shown, including the "unlocking" port with a half circle opening. The windows have become almost impossible to open - clearly whatever lift mechanism is broken. I have no idea what's inside or how to access whatever mechanism there is.

The building management wants over $300 per window to do what they say is retrofit a lift mechanism. I have 10 of this operable windows. I am an aerospace engineer AND architect with a variety of tools and a basic understanding of disassembly, assembly, mechanism adjustment, etc.

Do you have any idea how to fix this window, what tools and parts are required, etc.

Thanks so much in advance!!!
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named 18952CB8-1DCE-4197-BAD8-113721DBB4B0_1_105_c.jpeg
Profile picture of Paul
Paul from SWISCO responded:

Okay I think we can help you. First, I will need you to raise the sash a few inches, tilt it in, and remove it. It looks like you need a screw driver inserted into the hole to release the tilt latch so try that, just make sure to raise it a few inches first. 

Once the sash is removed, take photos of the balance channels. Showing the top, code number stamp on the channel, and clip on the end of the cord. Also measure the metal channel length. Finally, please take a photos of the pivot shoe.

You have kind of a complex setup but we should be able to get to the bottom of it. 

A quick learner from Illinois says:
Milco window retrofit.

I had a local window company come to repair ONE window. They basically took ALL the old parts out and replaced them with new parts and a new spring mechanism (in a tube not a rail). The existing spring rails are 32". They also used two small 1/2 crescent tools to remove the sash.

This took a guy 40 minutes and cost me $300!! As an engineer (albeit better with rocket engines and wings), this looks like a no brainer for me if I had the tools AND the parts.