Spiral balance works, barely

A quick learner from Illinois says:
I just ordered two S900-35 balances.
one balances lost it's spiral as I was putting it in, and it dropped a glob of lubricant along the way. I also had to charge it 12 turns to grab a bite.
The window is operational, but if I lift it to fully open, it drops down 3" and stays. If I settle for just 12" open, it stays right where I leave it. It opens and closes properly except for that top-drop. And I'm a little concerned about the 12 turn charge.
My sash is 21 pounds. The house is 20 years old, I'm the original owner and these balances have never been worked on before.
Help! I have seven more windows just like this one.
A quick learner from Illinois says:
your phone rep was kind enough to start this conversation for me. this is my first attempt at replacing balance, and I want to make sure I have the correct parts before I order the pieces for my othe 7 Windows's

is it possible I got a bad balance? or should I be using a stronger colored tip?
thanks I advance for your help me
Profile picture of Paul
Paul from SWISCO responded:
It sounds like the S900-35 isn't what you wanted. I have a few questions before we go any further. The old balance should have had an outer tube that went around it. What was the length and diameter of this tube? Also, did the old balance have a color tip at all?
A quick learner says:
The old balance is 35 inches long 9/16 wide there was no color on the tip The window pane that it's actually lifting or holding is 33.5 x 34.5 and weighs 21.6 pounds.