CertainTeed window spring

A home owner from Warwick, RI says:

These windows were installed about 25 years ago. One of them does not stay up. I realized there is a spring coil on either side of the track and they are both broken. How can I identify the parts I need and order them? I am not very good with handyman's work. But, I can ask a friend to help me.

The only thing I learned from the contractor who installed them 25 years ago is that the brand is CertainTeed and the springs look like a steel tape measure (I told you I was not good at these things!!)

Thank you for your help,

Cemal

Profile picture of Bob
Bob from SWISCO responded:

Certainteed Windows often use the 15-192 Pivot Shoe and the Series 170 and Series 171 Coil Balances. The video below goes into more details. 

A home owner from Warwick, RI says:

Bob, thank you for the information. From what I can see when I tilt the window, it looks like the smaller version. They probably used double coils for large windows because of their weight. Our windows are standard Cape Cod house windows. If I order a pair of these, are they returnable if on an outside chance they don't fit?

I am attaching a few photos I just took of the tilted window socket, the part that seems to hold the spring loop in the middle of the window height and the same part a friend removed for me. I hope these help and I can order a couple of sets.

Thanks again,

Cemal

Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_20211011_130445.jpg
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_20211011_130645.jpg
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named IMG_20211011_130417.jpg
Profile picture of Bob
Bob from SWISCO responded: