Constant force coil springs for a DH Window

A contractor from Boone, IA says:

I'm a contractor trying to fix a window for customer, but I can't tell what size of coil balances I need. They are the type like your Series 196, but I cannot read anything off of the springs. There are 2 springs, piggy backed on each side, so I need one long and one short. The window is a tilt-in, Fairview Double Hung by Trilite Windows. It is approx. 32 x 58 (frame size). Do you have a chart or anything that would help me out?

Also, I am having an issue getting the pics that I took of the springs to download onto my computer, so I can't send the photos either.

Any help you can give me wuold be greatly apprediated!

Thanks!

Dave

Profile picture of Tom
Tom from SWISCO responded:

Hello, Dave. Without photos I can't say for sure what you have. It sounds like you already picked out the springs you need, though, which are our Series 195 and Series 196. If you can't read the stamps on the old springs then you will have to weigh your sash on a scale and divide that by how many springs support it. Then you can pick accordingly.

I have not picked out the springs I need. I was saying that they might be it, or at least similar.
So YOu do not have a chart that has the frame size, and tells uou what springs are needed bbased on that??
Profile picture of Tom

No, that's not how coil balances are identified. Every manufacturer uses their own type of balance, and even the same manufacturer can use a bunch of different balances from window to window. Then you have to account for the installers themselves, who may make last minute changes to get things to work. You'd be amazed what kind of wild stuff you'll see when someone's got a deadline. The kind of chart you're suggesting simply wouldn't be practical. Window size and even window brand won't tell you anything about the coil balance used.