Spiral balance quote.

A professional from Brookline, MA says:
I'm looking to get info for first time purchase of balances. I am a professional restorer but have not yet done spiral balances so any additional info you can pass along would be appreciated. I'll be ordering more for another job soon as those windows are nearly finished. This project involves two double-hung wood windows 36"Wx45"H. Previous fixer mounted a 6" block at top of Lower sash channel to cheat with a >40" balance which has failed. I'd like new balances to be full-length so they don't look as stupid as the current solution. I'll be installing 1/4" IGUs as part of restoration so they'll be heavy. the daylight glass dimension is 14 7/8" W x 40.75"H. The windows are made of wood.
I've included an image of the windows for reference. I am looking for 8 pieces of the appropriate series 500 balance.Finally, please advise which sash mount bracket to use with these balances.
Profile picture of Paul
Paul from SWISCO responded:

The Series 500 balance with a 17-012 balance bracket has been used by wood window manufacturers as far back as the 1940's. The rule of thumb for balance lengths and wood sashes is to add 1" to the visible glass height for the top sash and 3" for the bottom sash. So for your 41.25" glass height, I recommend our S500-42 for the top and S500-44 for the bottom. 

For an insulated glass sash with 31" by 41.25" glass, I'm approximating the sash weight at around 38 lbs. You should weigh your sash to be sure. If I'm right, you'd want to use the black tip color option.

Let me know if you'd like me to walk you through installation, as it can be tricky for this kind of window.

Hello Paul, the client has decided to use our services to restore their windows so when the time comes to order the parts, I will do so based on your recommendations. Thank you, Jeremy
Profile picture of Paul

That's great to hear. We wish you a smooth, easy repair. Thanks for choosing us.