Coil Balance ID

A quick learner from Massachusetts says:
I need two of these. They broke on both sides of the window
Thumbnail of the uploaded file named Window.JPG
Profile picture of Tom
Tom from SWISCO responded:

Hello! Looks like you may just need a new coil balance. See our Series 152 for my recommendation. As long as the shoe and cover are in good condition then you can just reuse those.

Oh, I forgot to say that the shoe is broken on the other one (not shown in photo. Actually, on that one - the coil is fine, it's just the shoe). I'm a novice, I was wondering if it would be easier for me to just replace the whole unit. Is there a large difference in cost?

P.S., as far as the weight, the one I removed so far says (stamped on the coil): "5 K" Can I assume it's 5 for both sides? (I haven't removed the one with the broken shoe yet).

Profile picture of Tom

Thanks for clarifying. We actually don't sell these as complete assemblies, we only sell the components separately. If you do need a new shoe then that would be the 15-177. I'm very confident that that's what you need.

As for the weight, it's always going to be the same on both sides, yes. If one side says 5 then you can be confident that the other side will be the same.

Ok thanks. final question. I can get the complete assembly online from another company. But they only have either 7/8 or 8/8 in stock. My window's coil is a 5. Can I use the 8 in place of the 5?

Or - do you have a video that shows me how to order the parts from you and reassemble the assembly from what I've got now. It just doesn't look obvious to me how these whole thing comes apart and is put back together.

Thanks
Profile picture of Tom